Kanto’s Elite Four and Champion guide for Pokémon Red, Blue and Yellow

The culmination of your Pokémon journey will be facing off against members of the Elite Four and the Indigo League’s Pokémon Champion. We recommend stocking up on healing items before beginning the challenge, as you have no access to Pokémon Centers and will face strong trainers one after the other.

You can read our recommendations for taking on each member below, which can help you when forming your team.

Click here to return to the main Pokémon Red, Blue, Green and Yellow game page.

Elite Four Lorelei

The first of the Elite Four (E4) is Lorelei. She specializes in Ice-type Pokémon and she trained these Pokémon to destroy future opponents.

Lorelei’s team

  • Dewgong (Level 54)
  • Cloyster (Level 53)
  • Slowbro (Level 54)
  • Jynx (Level 56)
  • Lapras (Level 56)

We recommend using an Electric-type Pokémon against Dewgong, Cloyster, Slowbro, and Lapras. Use a Fire-type Pokémon to take down Jynx.

Elite Four Bruno

The second of the Elite Four is Bruno. He specializes in Fighting-type Pokémon which share one thing in common: a hard-hitting attack stat.

Bruno’s team

  • Onix (Level 53)
  • Hitmonchan (Level 55)
  • Hitmonlee (Level 55)
  • Onix (Level 56)
  • Machamp (Level 58)

We recommended using a Psychic-type Pokémon against his entire team, which will fall easily to strong special attacks, but Water- or Grass-type Pokémon are also good options for his two Onix.

Elite Four Agatha

The third member of the Elite Four is Agatha. She specializes in Ghost-type Pokémon and can be one of the hardest battles of the E4.

Agatha’s team

  • Gengar (Level 56)
  • Golbat (Level 56)
  • Haunter (Level 55)
  • Arbok (Level 58)
  • Gengar (Level 60)

We recommended using a Psychic- or Ground-type Pokémon against all 5 members of her team, but watch out for Golbat if using the latter.

Elite Four Lance

The fourth and final of the E4 is Lance. He specializes in Dragon-type Pokémon.

Lance’s team

  • Gyarados (Level 58)
  • Dragonair (Level 56)
  • Dragonair (Level 56)
  • Aerodactyl (Level 60)
  • Dragonite (Level 62)

We recommended using an Electric- and/or Ice-type Pokémon when battling against him.

Champion Blue

After defeating the Elite Four, you will face the Pokémon Champion of the Kanto region: your rival Blue.

Blue’s team

Unlike other battles, Blue’s team is dependent on what starter the player chose (RBG) or what his Eevee evolved into (Yellow). The first three Pokémon on his team will be the same with the second three changing based on the above criteria.

Pokémon Red, Blue and Green

  • Pidgeot (Level 61)
  • Alakazam (Level 59)
  • Rhydon (Level 61)
  • If the player chose Bulbasaur…
    • Exeggutor (Level 61)
    • Gyarados (Level 63)
    • Charizard (Level 65)
  • If the player chose Charmander…
    • Arcanine (Level 61)
    • Exeggutor (Level 63)
    • Blastoise (Level 65)
  • If the player chose Squirtle…
    • Gyarados (Level 61)
    • Arcanine (Level 63)
    • Venusaur (Level 65)

Pokémon Yellow

  • Sandslash (Level 61)
  • Alakazam (Level 59)
  • Exeggutor (Level 61)
  • If Blue’s Eevee evolved into Vaporeon…
    • Ninetales (Level 61)
    • Magneton (Level 63)
    • Vaporeon (Level 65)
  • If Blue’s Eevee evolved into Jolteon…
    • Cloyster (Level 61)
    • Ninetales (Level 63)
    • Jolteon (Level 65)
  • If Blue’s Eevee evolved into Flareon…
    • Mageneton (Level 61)
    • Cloyster (Level 63)
    • Flareon (Level 65)

We recommend using your strongest team to defeat him. Unfortunately, there’s no ‘magic bullet’ Pokémon type to counter him, but starting with an Electric-type to defeat Pidgeot (RBG) and following up with a strong physical attacker to deal with Alakazam can make things easier.